Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 157 posts
  • 82 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 2 years ago by Jamesays
  • Topic is favorited by 12 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

There are 157 posts in this topic. You are on page 1 of 4.
    #1 3 years ago

Here is a warning in hopes it helps fellow Pinsiders.

I have been accepting Paypal for more than 20 years...since it's inception. Never again! As the saying goes....cash on the glass from now on.

Last year I accepted a payment of $1,300 through Paypal Friends and Family (F&F). The misconception is that F&F is good as cash and once you receive the funds there is no recourse from the sender to take their money back. Turns out, in my case, more than 3 months later I got an email from Paypal saying "the buyer stated they did not authorize this purchase," and since the sender used a credit card to fund his Paypal account, the bank is processing a chargeback.

I called Paypal with questions. How can this happen months later? How can they take back the funds sent F&F? They asked me if I can prove the item I sold was delivered....like do I have a USPS delivery confirmation. I told them it was picked up in person. Not even sure what kind of proof I could provide that would mitigate this type of chargeback process. Needless to say, and warning to all:

Never accept Paypal for payment....even Friends and Family payment. You could find that months later they will take the money back.

#2 3 years ago

With only reading subject line I have to agree with your post.

#3 3 years ago