(Topic ID: 60514)

Paragon display help (Now displays are working! Coils are not....)

By Gov

10 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 15 posts
  • 7 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 10 years ago by barakandl
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_2558.JPG
#1 10 years ago

I recently picked up a working Paragon for free After replacing a couple of fuses, everything works except the displays. I did see them flicker on the first time I turned the game on, but have not been able to even get them to flicker since then. I have wiggled all of the wires and connectors to see if that might be the problem, but I can't seem to get anything out of them.

Can anybody tell me which connector is responsible for the displays on the board or a good place to start checking? I am new to Bally's after messing with Gottlieb System 80's for a while.

IMG_2558.JPGIMG_2558.JPG

#2 10 years ago

the board pins probally need to be reflowed.

#3 10 years ago

Do you know which plug controls the displays? That is kind of what I figured, but usually when you wiggle them on a problem like that something will at least flicker.

#4 10 years ago

Before you cook your displays, do you have meter to check your display voltage?

#5 10 years ago
Quoted from Gov:

I recently picked up a working Paragon for free

Awesome .. congrats ..I'm not jealous .. honest

i found this really helpful with reco of mine.
http://stevekulpa.net/pinball/bally_disp6r.htm

#6 10 years ago
Quoted from vid1900:

Before you cook your displays, do you have meter to check your display voltage?

Yes I do, just need to know where to start.

#7 10 years ago

As Vid said, check your display voltage. I would suggest starting at the rectifier board, then solenoid driver after that. If your voltages are okay, then check the upper left connector on the CPU board.

#8 10 years ago
Quoted from wiredoug:

Awesome .. congrats ..I'm not jealous .. honest