7 years ago

Topic Stats

• 6 posts
  • 3 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 7 years ago by Joker2415
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider joker2415.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 7 years ago

I went off topic and mentioned this in another thread, so I thought I would make a thread in case someone knows the solution or runs into the same problem.

I just got my Mr and Mrs Pacman up and working with a lot of help! I probably would have never made it this far completely on my own...Actually? I know I wouldn't have!

One of the problems I was trying to sort out today was that I didn't have any GI lights, And the red part of the pac maze was confused. The red lights weren't spelling out anything, and were just doing what they wanted. Still fairly new to all of this I'm studying the schematic and trying to check anything I could think of. Convinced U1 on the Aux Lamp Driver board was bad. But I wanted to be sure ,so I started playing around with the logic probe.

I touched U1 pin 2 with the probe and everything started working! The GI lights came on, and all the red pac lights were working like they should! Take the probe off and everything goes back to the way it was! What the heck is going on? I check wires, check connectors back to the mpu. Can't find anything yet.

After a while, I went back to the Aux Lamp Driver Board and decided to stick the DMM on pin 2 of U1 to see exactly what is happening when I touch the logic probe to it. Without the probe, It reads 5.1v, with the probe it reads 5v even. The probe was pulling just enough to make a difference.

So, I'm guessing if the board was at exactly 5v. everything would work like it should? But since it's 5.1v. It's just enough to make that whole row U2 through U5 off enough not to work? Huh?