IMG_20140731_100117.jpg
knocker.jpg
IMG_20140730_151411.jpg
Williams DMS (450x405).jpg
Williams credit unit reference (500x452).jpg
Oxo2.JPG
Oxo1.JPG
#1 9 years ago

Recently purchased an OXO. The seller told me the game was set to free play, which is fine. Sadly, once playing at home I have discovered when free game scoring levels are hit or when end of game number matches, there is no free game knocking sound. That's the best sound in pinball.

Any thoughts on how to restore that free game knocking sound?

I'm very new at this so basic terms, locations or pictures if possible really appreciated.

Thanks

#2 9 years ago

Could be several different things from a simply menu setting to a coil, diode, solenoid, relay or transistor. Start by combing through all your menu screens looking for a knocker section with on/off/hi/low options and adjust accordingly. If that doesn't work, find where the knocker mechanism is and look for loose wires a burnt out coil or broken diode on the coil.

Others far more technical than I will answer too and help you out if it's more than what I've mentioned. No worries, you'll get it resolved. GL and welcome to the Pinsanity!!!

Edit: If you go to the main forums screen, you'll see the "Forums Search Feature" Up in the top right corner. Click it and type in, "Knocker". A lot of different threads will pop up with knocker problems and resolutions for you. Those may also be of help to you. The owners manual may also be a great help with resolving the issue as well.

#3 9 years ago

There are some switches on the front door than need to be closed in order for the knocker to work. They're with the coin switches.

Don't believe OXO has diodes or transistors.

#4 9 years ago

You should be able to activate the knocker via the replay step up. I'm not sure exactly what that looks like on this machine, but it's entirely possible that it's simply disconnected.

#5 9 years ago