(Topic ID: 206894)

OT: strip-and-insert /"quickwire" outlets SUCK - what am I missing?

By goingincirclez

6 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 23 posts
  • 15 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 6 years ago by Marvin
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 6 years ago

When it comes to household electrical work I'm pretty much self-taught, know enough to be dangerous but reasonably cautious, etc. I've rewired rooms and panels and appliances and the like but sometimes the stuff terrifies me. For instance, I don't understand the seemingly arbitrary decisions as to what's "code" and what isn't.

Case in point: I've heard and read arguments, from licensed electricians no less, who say that when installing a new wall outlet or switch, you should always use the little holes whereby you simply strip 3/4" or so of insulation from the wire (use the gauge on the receptacle if in doubt) and stick the conductor into the little holes near the screws. The holes have tabs that are supposed to bite and give a nice secure connection. No screws to accidentally-not-quite-really-have-tightened all the way, or have loosen over time. It's supposed to be quick and easy and permanent and safe.