• Topic is favorited by 3 Pinsiders

You

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

2019-08-30 20.37.59 (resized).jpg
pasted_image (resized).png
IMG_20190814_204358 (resized).jpg
IMG_20190814_202913 (resized).jpg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider Shredso.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 4 years ago

It's been awhile since I built a computer. I've been building computers for 20 years. Even if I don't save a bunch of money, I enjoy the assembly and knowing the components are quality. I don't really do too much PC gaming anymore, or any gaming for that matter. My computers do trickle down to a virtual pinball and a MAME once they are filtered out from the main PC. Any suggestions on this build? I'd really like to knock a couple hundred bucks off. MA is tax free this weekend so I would like to take advantage. Yes, this is totally overkill, but I don't care. I want a screaming fast relatively future proof PC. I tend to go with the latest CPU/MOBO and slack a little on the GPU because it's easily upgradable and most of my limited gaming is on my Xbox.

Ryzen 9 3900x
Aorus Master X570
Corsair Dominator Platimun 32GB
Gigabyte Aorus 1TB
XFX RX 5700
Noctua NH-D15
Thermaltake v200
Corsair HX1000

#3 4 years ago
Quoted from PinBuck:

Looks pretty good to me. I doubt you'll use those 12 cpu cores, but doesn't look like you're sacrificing any speed. 32GB of memory seems like overkill, but you're under $1500 so doesn't seem like a huge expense. I don't personally like reference design AMD cards with the blower design (hot and loud, usually) so I would wait for a better cooled partner card, which seems like they're about ready to be released. https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/sapphire-pulse-radeon-rx-5700-xt-amd-navi-review,6276.html
Congrats on the new build!