New! Dark mode!

Browsing Pinside at night? Getting tired of all the white? Switch to dark mode using the button in the top right (or CTRL-B)!

(Topic ID: 172856)

Opinions on Gottliebs Sys3 compared to Williams Sys11

By Pinasco

4 years ago

Topic Stats

• 18 posts
  • 12 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 4 years ago by rattmuscle
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 4 years ago

Hi !
    I'm an absolute beginner - who got my first pinball, Big Guns (Williams), quite recently.

Well- I am totally hooked on pins now and I'm already looking for the second machine.

Even though I am an absolute amateur on fixing electronics, I'm about to buy a proper electric tester and soldering station to be prepared when the machines start to show problems. However , of course, I´m the kind of guy who prefers when things function and don´t need repeated repair work. Or at least that those repair works don´t turn out to be too challenging.

In that respect - and taking into consideration that I'm a newbie : is there anything that should be given special consideration if my next buy were to be a Gottlieb Sys 3 ?

I've had people warn me from getting a Gottlieb Sys 80- because they are said to be very hard to troubleshoot and work on. Does that apply to the Sys 3 Gottliebs also ?

So far I've had my sights set on getting one of the following titles: Surf N Safari, Super Marios Bros or Lights, Camera, Action.

Thanks in advance for Your thoughts.

#2 4 years ago

System 11 games have a handful of known flaws that need to be addressed and bulletproofed. Troubleshooting info on System 11 games is readily available for the most part.

System 80 games have a handful of known problem areas as well, but this system is incredibly well documented. I wouldn't listen too much to folks trying to dissuade you from them if you want to own one.