(Topic ID: 138491)

Ok this is a dumb question, but I have to ask it.

By adam12hicks

8 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_3838.jpg
#1 8 years ago

So I ordered one of the NVRam DMD+ chips so that I can pull the batteries from my board and not have to worry about it. It appears there are two memory controllers on my CPU board. I labeled them A and B in the picture attached. First, can someone tell me which of these I will need to replace? I believe it is A, but want to make sure before I cause any problems. Total newbie question I know.

Second total newbie question - there are some updates to the ROM firmware which I think would be beneficial (ability to bypass OPTOs when they go out, etc) so I have ordered a set of ROMs from someone who burns them. It was listed as 'Stern Pinball Roller Coaster Tycoon ROM Upgrade Set CPU 7.02 Display 7.01'

I am assuming that my labeled C and D chips are the CPU and display ROMs that I will be replacing? I feel dumb asking, but I don't want to plug anything in the wrong slots and cause problems.

Thank you!
Adam

IMG_3838.jpgIMG_3838.jpg

#2 8 years ago

(also notice my missing Q5 transistor. Hopefully that will be replaced tomorrow with great success!)

#3 8 years ago

Display rom goes on the PCB on the back of the DMD display itself.
CPU EPROM goes where you have marked "C" below the batteries.

#4 8 years ago

Ok thank you! I totally brain-farted on marking the sound chip as D. That makes perfect sense.

#5 8 years ago

As far as the NVram I beleive it goes in "A" only. That is a whitestar board right?

#6 8 years ago

wait, did you order DMD proms or NVRAM?

if it's NVRAM (so you can remove your batteries) that replaces the RAM, on that whitestar board it would be the socketed IC all the way to the right, under the batteries

the other RAM IC is for the audio section and is not battery backed up at all normally

#7 8 years ago