• Latest reply 6 years ago by Charger500
  • Topic is favorited by 7 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

meee (resized).jpeg
#1 7 years ago

I am fairly new to the hobby, but a long time gamer. As a kid, I would play pinball, but never got into the technical stuff.

Now that I have a couple of machines at home, and I would love to be able to improve my skills. I've started trying to nudge the machine, and it seems I'm gaining a bit more control.

I was reading some posts, and saw countless comments about using sliders and other things to make it easy for the machines to move around the floor. I have my pins on very smooth laminate flooring, so if I do not use rubber feet, they slide around if you nudge.

I have a MMR, and before putting rubber feet on, it seems like a nudge from the side would move the machine more than the ball. Once I put the rubber feet on, I got more control in redirecting the ball.

So my question is... Do you not want resistance to be able to nudge more effectively? Does it make more sense to have a machine that stays in place or moves around when you nudge?

Thank you all

#2 7 years ago

The feet should not move when nudging. Also on some machines I have I can tighten the leg bolts too tight and there is no give in the machine. Loosening a quarter turn after tightening can help a bunch but don't loosen too much.

I don't make big moves when nudging but instead give little hits with my hand to the front and sides. It helps a bunch with saving the ball from the outlanes. Upper playfield nudging is important as well but something not a lot of guys focus on. Bumping the ball to complete the upper inlanes or keep the ball in the pops to complete an objective is an important skill. Also controlling feeds from the upper playfield like in TWD is important to avoid SDTM drains.

Keep the tilt tight to keep your nudging under control. What games do have? Maybe some of us can give you places to focus your nudging.