• Latest reply 9 years ago by jlm33
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

image-254.jpg
#1 9 years ago

Hi all. First time poster here and total noob in the pinball world. I’m in the process of outfitting my game room, and a pinball machine is one of the (many) items on my wish list. Therefore, I’d appreciate any wisdom you’re willing to share.

For the past decade I've been playing the Addams Family which I really enjoy. However, as a family member already has this machine, I want something different. After doing some research I've come up with the following top three:

1. Medieval Madness
2. LOTR
3. The Hobbit

MM seems to be the gold standard against which all other pins are measured. LOTR appears to be a great machine, and the theme is appealing. The Hobbit is also interesting, however the threads on this forum seem to be trending toward not purchasing it right away to allow JJP to work out some of the initial (and inevitable) bugs. The newness is actually somewhat of a draw for me, as it appears that the technology is top-notch.

Here are my questions:

1. If money weren't an option, which one of these would you choose and why?
2. If you chose MM, would you go with the remake, a refurb, or a high-end restoration?
3. If you chose LOTR, would you buy now or wait to see if the rumors of a Vault Edition prove to be true?
4. Do you have any other pins you would recommend above the three I’m considering?
5. How much should I expect to pay for these pins? I've seen the prices listed online (from companies, not individuals), but wondered if they are reasonable.

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help!

#2 9 years ago

Whatchoo talkin' 'bout, Willis? (Sorry...I just had to!)