Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Nip It Player Reset 2 (resized).jpg
A507B89F-762E-43C1-A856-71C4C7311425 (resized).jpeg
#1 2 years ago

I am fairly new to the hobby and slowly have been trying to read schematics for pinballs but this particular problem has me stumped. On my Nip-It machine I can play a 1-player game fine and I also can play a 3 or 4-player game fine. But if I try to play a 2-player game the machine recognizes it as a 3-player game. My biggest problem I believe is I don't have a full understanding of what advancing to the next player is involved on an EM machine and where to troubleshoot it on the schematic. If anyone can point me to maybe a previous discussions on player advancement and how to troubleshoot them , that would be great. I have already searched the forum on my particular machine to no avail for this problem but I am unsure what other machine would be similar enough to search for this problem on. Thanks in advance.

#2 2 years ago

If it were me, I would look at the Player Up step unit (it is in the back box on my Bow and Arrow). There should be 2 coils on it, one to move to the next player and one to reset to player 1. Try activating the coil on the lower part of the Bakelite and see if it advances correctly and doesn’t skip player 2. You may need to clean the stepper unit if it is skipping that player.

Warning: I am new to working on my pinball, but was able to bring it back to life with help from people on here.

A507B89F-762E-43C1-A856-71C4C7311425 (resized).jpegA507B89F-762E-43C1-A856-71C4C7311425 (resized).jpeg
#3 2 years ago

There are two step units that work together. The Player Unit tracks the current player. The Coin Unit tracks the number of players. The Coin Unit should reset at the start of a new game which puts it at the 1 player position. It should take one step up as each additional player is added. The Coin unit doesn't reset until the start of the next game.