1 year ago

Topic Stats

• 9 posts
  • 6 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 1 year ago by sandro
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

d94583d339a4634a9b909577f1151dd08b518034 (resized).jpg
    9809A743-A357-49AA-9E5D-D767103147CF (resized).jpeg
    #1 1 year ago

Hi all, I am a complete newbie and have very little idea on electronics but I have an issue.
    My Adam’s family has started blowing the 5amp slow blow fuse in the main power supply box.
    I unplugged all connections to the power supply and put another fuse in, hoping I could slowly plug each run back in including the main coil but the fuse blew again.

Firstly should the power supply be able to be powered up and not blow the fuse with nothing connected?

And I guess in relation to this, probably obvious to some but with the fuse blowing when only this has power does that mean it is faulty.

Lastly any help as to whether to replace the whole power supply (should this be the issue) or just components in it?

#2 1 year ago
    9809A743-A357-49AA-9E5D-D767103147CF (resized).jpeg9809A743-A357-49AA-9E5D-D767103147CF (resized).jpeg
    #3 1 year ago

One of the two things circled in red is your likely culprit.

Unsolder one leg on one first, and if fuse holds put it back and unsolder one leg of the other one. Replace the bad one.

I doubt your line filter is bad.

LTG : )

d94583d339a4634a9b909577f1151dd08b518034 (resized).jpgd94583d339a4634a9b909577f1151dd08b518034 (resized).jpg
    #4 1 year ago

Thank you, forgive me, I will sound like an idiot but if I unsolder 1 and it can still power up what do they actually do ??

#5 1 year ago
    Quoted from mymanshed:

what do they actually do ??

Prevent electrical surges. When shorted/bad, they blow fuses.

Might not be your issue, but it is where I would start.

LTG : )

#6 1 year ago

Just in case...