(Topic ID: 37266)

Newbie needs basic servicing advice. Error report, now what?

By jschwart

11 years ago

Topic Stats

• 8 posts
  • 7 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 11 years ago by NM
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 11 years ago

Hi,
I'm a newbie near Wash DC who recently acquired a WCS pin a few months ago. Really happy with the purchase, but just recently a few odd things are happening (giving credit for ramps not hit, etc...) and a test report showed an error "Switch 41 goal through." I'm not very handy and don't know where to start. Anyone have advice on options including doing myself or potentially hiring someone to do regular maintenance (and what that should cost)?

#2 11 years ago

Don't hire someone, learn it yourself and enjoy the process. If you're going to be owning pins you'll need to know how to do this stuff.

http://techniek.flipperwinkel.nl/wpc/index2.htm#switch

http://techniek.flipperwinkel.nl/wpc/index3.htm#dot

#3 11 years ago

In kentucky I pay about $60 an hour when I cant fix stuff. You can try to trouble shoot yourself. Handy is not really a part of it just whats your level of comfort with taking advice and learning how to work on the game. Your description of the problem is a little generic - lets see if we can get you to a more specific problem.

However, I would first suggest you open up the coin door. Put the game in test switch mode. The buttons on the coin door will let you get there remove the glass and test the switches. When you activate a switch does the right one show up in the menu? Do more then one show up? Can switch 41 be activated? You might need a manual they can be found at ipdb.org

For example if your not so great at the game yet, you might not have made a goal in 20+ games making the game think that its got a problem when it does not.

#4 11 years ago

Welcome to Pinside! WCS is a great game.