3 years ago

Topic Stats

• 21 posts
  • 17 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 3 years ago by EMsInKC
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 3 years ago

I'm new to the hobby and have started to look for my first game. Due to my age I'm interested in the EM games from the 70's. There is no particular title I'm looking for I would just like a game I can enjoy. I like fixing things so it doesn't have to be perfect, but I do want it to look good. When I go to look at one of these machines what should I look for that is considered a no go item? I would also like to know what I can expect to pay for a machine from the 70's. Keep in mind I'm not looking for anything rare, just something that will be fun.

#2 3 years ago

You want to make sure the artwork looks good. The backglass and playfield are probably the most important parts here. Most EMs can be repaired if you know what you're doing.

#3 3 years ago

I'm far from an expert, but my vote is going to be a Gottlieb that's heavy in drop targets.

Atlantis (beautiful artwork, and a wedgehead)
    Target Alpha/Solar City/El Dorado

I'm sure others can give more examples. The above are also good in that they're relatively abundant and have lots of parts/expertise availability.

For my money, Gottlieb was just "where it was" in the EM days. Says they guy who's owned two EM Ballys but never a Gottlieb.

Brad

#4 3 years ago