Stripper.JPG
P1050508_(1280_x_1024).JPG
P1050507_(1280_x_1024).JPG
P1050506_(1280_x_1024).JPG
P1050504_(1280_x_1024).JPG
P1050503_(1280_x_1024).JPG
P1050502_(1280_x_1024).JPG
P1050501_(1280_x_1024).JPG

There are 61 posts in this topic. You are on page 1 of 2.
#1 10 years ago

I'm kinda new to all this, but having GREAT fun (again) thus far! I grew up playing EM's and early SS's in the 60's/70's and am now one of the baby-boomers who's bringing them back home. I bought my first machine--KISS--a couple of months ago and have had a ton of fun working/playing on it.

Being a collector I'm used to scouring ebay and craigslist on a regular basis and have now added pins as one of my searches (much to the chagrin of my other half)!! I was a little surprised to see a post pop up last week for a San Francisco for $50!! The playfield and backglass looked decent, so I called the seller. He said that two people had previously committed to it and never called back, but he realized that I was sincere and was kind enough to pull the ad. I finally made the half-hour trip to his place out in the country to pick it up yesterday.

I was pleasantly surprised to see that it was in much better shape than I anticipated. The playfield and backglass are extremely nice for a game that shows over 89,000 on the counter! It appears to be complete, other than missing the door on the backbox and coin mech, and someone decided to paint the cabinet blue at some point.

I realize that this isn't a high-demand game--even though it's the last EM made with a gobble hole and has backglass animation--but figured that it would be fun to try to bring it back to life if I can do so without sinking more into it than it's worth. I figured that it would be a good winter project. I'm currently putting my spreadsheet together on restoration cost, but can't seem to locate any back doors--?? Does anyone reproduce them or can you suggest a source for a NOS or used one?