5 years ago

Topic Stats

• 7 posts
  • 6 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 5 years ago by MrFancy
  • Topic is favorited by 3 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 5 years ago

I’m new to the hobby and considering buying a 1960’s EM in good condition (meaning works 100% and has a lot of new parts on the playfield). I don’t know anything about maintenance and repairs but I definitely want to learn the basics. I expect to play it regularly but not heavily, say 20-30 plays/week.

What I want to get a sense of is, what am I getting into? Assuming I can fix minor issues, how often can I expect to have bigger problems that a beginner like me won’t be able to fix on their own? I know it’s impossible to say for sure, but for a typical 1960s EM would you say most likely a couple of times a year? More? Less?

Thanks for any input.

#2 5 years ago

For an EM, there's pretty much only two classes of issues. 95% will be the same simple easy thing, the other 5% will be crazy weird cases that you hope you don't run into. Most of my EMs have been running for years without issues, and those 5% ones don't usually crop up during normal use

#3 5 years ago

Start here:

http://www.pinrepair.com/em/index.htm

You'll want to print it all out so have plenty of paper & ink in your printer.

#5 5 years ago