New! Dark mode!

Browsing Pinside at night? Getting tired of all the white? Switch to dark mode using the button in the top right (or CTRL-B)!

(Topic ID: 268520)

New vs. Old

By John0560

5 months ago

Topic Stats

• 11 posts
  • 9 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 5 months ago by Hazoff
  • Topic is favorited by 2 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

#1 5 months ago

I am pretty new to pinball, like 8 months. I know by now it will be a life long venture. When I started, the new machines appealed to me quite more than older titles. Now after owning a newer machine (GB) and recently purchasing an older and much under rated LW3, I can say that I have a much better appreciation for some of these older games. They are built like a brick @#$% house, and very exciting. I know I cannot compare every old title to new, but I will say that my wife and I fight over LW3 than GB quite frequently. I will definitely be searching for more 90s titles from now on. Share some of your comparisons if you have any NEW vs. OLD.

#2 5 months ago

They both have something to offer. sometimes simple is better than complicated, sometimes a fast game is better than long & slow, sometimes old better than new

#3 5 months ago

I prefer the fast playing older games. If you can find an EM made after 1976, (DC voltage on the coils), they are very fast and a lot of fun! I like the Gottlieb EM’s a lot, and the early SS Bally’s are great too. Of this era, I own Gottlieb Poseidon, Cleopatra EM and a Close Encounters EM, all of which are solid built and very fun games.

#4 5 months ago
Quoted from bonzo442:

They both have something to offer. sometimes simple is better than complicated, sometimes a fast game is better than long & slow, sometimes old better than new

It is nice to diversify, after playing the same game for 8 months it is definitely a nice to have a change of pace. I am starting to see how people get hooked into this hobby.

#5 5 months ago

i prefer older (pre 1994) games