Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

PF bottom.jpg
PF top.jpg
PF center.jpg
Machine.jpg
Coin door.jpg
Backbox.jpg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider Nycon.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 9 years ago

Hi everyone,

as I am new to pinball and this forum in particular I would like to introduce myself and my project. In my teens, about 15 years ago to be more precise, my father and I used to go to a bar to play pinball about once a week (machines played over the years: Lethal Weapon 3, Barb Wire, Who Dunnit). Back then we already looked into buying a used machine for home use but were put off as neither of us would have been able to repair it if something went wrong with the machine.

Forward 15 years, although being a biomedical scientist, I have a good knowledge of electronics and mechatronics as I really like to build and repair things (I realized that I should have studied engineering instead, oh well...).

About three weeks ago I more or less spontaneously decided that I really needed a pinball machine quite immediately, so without much research beforehand I went and bought a W?D from a guy who had to downsize his pinball collection. I was interested in a few other machines as well but decided to go for the W?D by its relative rarity alone. Had I done a bit more reading beforehand I would have seen that W?D is changing owners quite frequently so I might have gotten a slightly better deal elsewhere.