You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Gridiron After Paint Touch Up (resized).jpg
Gridiron Paint Pitting (resized).jpg

#1 2 years ago

Greetings fellow Pin-Ballers,

I'm a little new to this. I enjoy a good game of pinball, and grew up around the electro-mechanical games. I never thought I'd actually *own* a pinball machine, but I've fallen into a deal I couldn't refuse: A free pinball machine! All it cost me getting a few brothers-in-law to assist with it's relocation. I figure that'll be some burgers and some cold drinks once it's up and running.

All said and told, I'm the excited owner of a 1973 Bally Monte Carlo (#monte-carlo-bally-1973). I'm not an expert at grading, but I can say that the condition of the cabinet is pretty gosh darn good for a 49 year old game that has over 25,000 plays on it. The backbox and glass are in equal condition. I've not noted any major problems there.

I've spent the past week watching some YouTube videos about machine upkeep from the likes of PinballHelp, and have begun Retro Gaming with Hopper's series detailing his tear down and restore of another 1973 Bally Monte Carlo.

The playfield is dusty/dirty. I know that some of the "dirt" on the field is old wax, as it's small bits of white material. The bumpers are mostly dry-rotted and need to be replaced as well. I know that I can clean up the playfield with some cleaning wax, and then rewax the field. These jobs, I think I can handle.

The jobs I don't think I can't handle on my own, are as follows. I'm trying to describe in detail what is happening, so that others more experienced than me can make suggestions. I appreciate any and all advice. Here's my notes:

1. When I plug in the game and turn the switch to on, nothing happens. No lights, no sounds. The machine has no coinslots, only a credit button. When I push the button one of two things happen: