(Topic ID: 278966)

New to pinball, what is a good fun machine priced around $3k-5500 (updated)

By Fieldsweeper

3 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 164 posts
  • 71 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 3 years ago by grantopia
  • Topic is favorited by 2 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_20190713_141546_281.jpg
    IMG_3204 (resized).jpeg
    IMG_3204 (resized).jpeg
    IMG_3204 (resized).jpeg
    IMG_3204 (resized).jpeg
    9DCE1AD3-2464-45C7-8EE3-EE2FF7EDF453 (resized).jpeg
    There are 164 posts in this topic. You are on page 1 of 4.
    #1 3 years ago

So I am relatively new to pinball machines. I have obviously played them before but want to own one. I have played Taxi and Tales of Arabian Nights but Arabian is hella expensive. Taxi is a little more than I care to spend. (found one for around 2700)

However, I have noticed that below about 2k they start to get old, simple and kind of lame. so I am looking to see if anyone knows which ones are good starter games that wont make me give it up so soon? Can you get a decent taxi of late 80s early 90s or newer game for around that price?

I am little flexible on price.

thanks,

edit around 3k to 5500 ish + or -

#2 3 years ago

Unfortunately you need to up your budget significantly to reach anything from the late 80's and up that works and is ready to play.

#3 3 years ago

Gottlieb games tend to be a bit lower in price than some of the others. But yes, more desirable games will be more expensive. If you are handy, try looking for project games to fix up. Those can usually be found at a lower price than games that are plug & play ready.

Just looking in the marketplace right now, here's some decent solid state games in your area that aren't too far outside your budget:

Here's a Rock listed in Pittsburg for $1350 OBO: https://pinside.com/pinball/market/classifieds/ad/103225