(Topic ID: 58096)

New to EM: '77 Gottlieb Mustang Stepper Keeps Spinning?

By dmklunk

10 years ago

Topic Stats

• 10 posts
  • 5 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 10 years ago by dmklunk
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

wmsreel1c.jpg
#1 10 years ago

Hi,
I have been working with solid state machines for a few years now but I have never even opened up an EM machine before. I have a friend who has a Gottlieb Mustang and, when you turn it on, the stepper (i think that's what that motor in the cabinet is called! ) keeps spinning. You can't play or start a game or do anything -- it lights up but nothing happens. I'd love to get it fixed for him but I have literally no idea what I'm doing with EM machines. Anyone able to help a solid state kind of guy get a little bit of background on these EM machines?

As always, thanks for all the help!

Derek

#2 10 years ago

Derek,
you are most likely referring to the score motor.
Take a look at pinrepair.com EM guides. This is the bible of EM repair.

After you go thru that post your questions and we will be able to help
--Jeff

#3 10 years ago

Here is a 1977 Gottlieb Mustang manual. This may be helpful when debugging a startup sequence.

http://user.xmission.com/~daina/tips/pub/tip0449.html

way2wyrd is right on the pinrepair just read it and slowly digest it.

#4 10 years ago

I think it is the score motor that I am having issues with. The "tens" reel on the Player One score display seems to be locked on "7" (in other words, the Player One display says "00070". The Player Two display reads "00000" as I believe it should. Any chance that one reel may be jammed, which would cause the score motor to keep trying to spin? I think that previously the reels had been sticking so maybe it got jammed?

#5 10 years ago

very possible. does the score reset relay keep firing during this problem also?.