(Topic ID: 305492)

New Pinball owner

By targetAlpha

2 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

#1 2 years ago

I just took ownership of a pretty nice looking Target Alpha that is functional but has a few issues. I have been reading a few of the posts and got a few items fixed. I am new to working on pinball machines but will be learning it seems.

I would like to address these issues. Can you give me an idea on the order of ease to address the problems and also give me some suggestions where to start to try address each issue? I don't want to try to tackle these all at once. I want to be able to continue to play the game with little victories.

I have the slow/inaccurate bonus issue and will look into that in the future.

It automatically plays 2 players (1 and 4) every game. I would like to get all four players working.

Also, if we play with it set to 5 balls, player 1 gets 5 balls, but player 4 only receives 4 balls. My kids have decided I should be player 4 only to give them a chance to win because of this. If I change it to 3 balls both players get 3 balls without an issue.

I see multiple posters that post pictures of schematics with different circuits highlighted. I have the schematics that came with the machine but they look pretty original. I am curious if there is a place to get digital copies of the schematics.

Thanks for the help. This site has already helped me address some issues.

#2 2 years ago

Welcome to Pinside and well done getting some things fixed by reading the forum.

The Player Unit in the head keeps track of the player and ball in play. There are lots of topics here that discuss how it works if you're curious including one I put together recently:
https://pinside.com/pinball/forum/topic/animated-em-schematic-diagrams#post-6611500

You might also consider attending an online repair clinic either to listen in or to get live help with your game:
https://pinside.com/pinball/forum/topic/an-em-pinball-online-repair-clinic