(Topic ID: 7653)

New member introduction and Bad Girls pinball problems.

By fatality83

12 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 34 posts
  • 9 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 6 years ago by alistaircg
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 12 years ago

Hello everyone, I am a new member. My name is Chris. I live in york pa. My arcade consists of a Mortal Kombat 2 dedicated cabinet with 6 in 1 switcher installed with all the Mk's (1-4) on it. An area 51/maximum force dedicated cabinet. A sharpshooter in a Dynamo Cabinet. I recently just bought my first pin Bad Girls. I got it for real cheap because it needs some work. I am hoping yall can help me with it.

First I will apologize for my lack of understanding the terminology revolving around pinballs. I am new to all of this and am learning as I go.

The problem initially was, when you turn on the pinball, some of the lights come on but many do not. The speakers would pop and two things underneath the play field made clicking sound. Words on the score screen were jumbled and illegible. I pulled out the main cpu board and found there to be some battery corrosion and several possible broken traces. I desoldered the battery and ran wires to bypass the broken traces on the board. I than tested the board out and much to my suprise, it worked. The display said bad girls and I was able to credit up the game and music started playing. The solenoids that shoot the ball out into the plunger ramp were not working but if I manually placed the ball in the ramp and shot the ball into play everything seemed to be working great. I was a very happy man. Here is a video of it in action when it worked.

I than pulled out the pcb to clean the corrosion off with 50/50 mix of white vinegar and water. I scrubbed it good with a brush. I than reinstalled the pcb and it worked for some time and than started doing this.