Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_3806_(resized).JPG
IMG_3805_(resized).JPG
#1 8 years ago

Hi All - the first pin I bought is an IJ. I was/am a total newbie, and the seller pointed out some bunching of the decals near the legs, it didn't look too bad. I spoke with some pinsiders who said that can be typical.

Well, it looks really bad to me right now, and I think the reason is when the machine was shown to me, I recall it having some type of felt in between the leg and the cabinet, almost like a protector. The bunching likely happened right where that felt hit the cabinet. The felt or protector that was there was not passed along to me, and so now the "bubbling" is like half an inch or so from the leg so it stands out more.

This is starting to bother me, so I would like to get it corrected and protected. I need some advice on how to correct it, and also what to install to protect it. I have read some forum posts, and have seen a few different approaches, so I wanted to show the photos of my machine. These are pictures of the left front leg, which is the worst example, the other legs are not as bad. I do have a PinGulp installed on this left front leg as well.

IMG_3805_(resized).JPGIMG_3805_(resized).JPG

IMG_3806_(resized).JPGIMG_3806_(resized).JPG

#2 8 years ago

You basically have 3 options:

1) re-decal the cabinet. This is time consuming - but it's the only option that will result in completely fixing the issue
2) using a hair dryer, soften the decals where it's wrinkled and push it back down with your finger. This will make it look better in most cases, but usually doesn't completely resolve the issue (and sometimes doesn't work at all).