(Topic ID: 204766)

Need help !!! (Gorgar with no displays working)

By lastsojourner

6 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

#1 6 years ago

Hello everyone , new here. I hate that my first interaction here is for help but it is unavoidable. Got a Gorgar pin awhile back from a guy that let a so called electrician into the back box with a meter. The only problem he was having was players 3,4 were not lit otherwise game ran fine. After a flash and puff of smoke the so called electrician promptly said he couldn't help. Hence I acquired the game with no displays lit, a few playfield lights on and no attract. I'm a machinist by trade so prints are no biggy for me and I've done my share of electrical work so replaced some burnt resisters and transistors right off. I knew this wouldn't solve my problem but it needed to be done. I've tried to trace the former guys smoke trail but don't see any logical burnt spots or damage. But I deduced that the first place he woulda checked was the transformer. I know from reading hundreds of posts and responses and everybody's how to's that the transformer usually doesn't go bad. But I'm getting meter readings that are either double what they should be or half what they should be. As an example, on pin 9 of IJ2 that should be 12vac unregulated I'm getting 23.3 vac. The voltages at the power board fuses are crazy too. Any responses and\or help will be greatly appreciated. Thanx in advance.

#2 6 years ago

Are you measuring AC hot to common ? Hot to ground don't work.

LTG : )

#3 6 years ago

I wouldn't worry about the transformer. You should start by checking all the fuses to make sure there good and the right value. That might get some things working so you can eliminate that. Next check the power supply to make sure it's putting out the right voltages.

#4 6 years ago