3 years ago

Topic Stats

• 32 posts
  • 27 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 3 years ago by whisper
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 3 years ago

OK, for now I only have space for one machine in my home so I wanted to reach out for suggestions on my first (and possibly only?) pinball machine purchase.

I certainly play and enjoy pinball but I certainly am no expert. I do find that I rarely understand how to get points and spend most of my time just trying to keep the ball moving with little to no strategy. I'd love to own a machine so I could get to know the best way to trigger certain effects, etc. I also hope my daughter could play it, so a kid-friendly theme (or at least one that isn't non-kid-friendly) would be a big plus.

I'm an engineer type so I like multi-step goals so that I have to achieve a series of challenges to unlock something neat. I really enjoy unlocking multiple simultaneous balls, accessing alternate areas, etc. For example, at a recent trip to the Pinball Hall of Fame in LV I was intrigued by the Family Guy/Shrek games with the mini pinball game that can be unlocked (although I never figure out how to unlock it, just did it by accident once), and I thought the Circus game was neat with the multiple levels (not that I'm going to be able to afford one of those, or even find one unless it gets remade as I saw here on the forums). It reminds me a little bit of Revenge of the Gator, a Pinball game on the original Gameboy where you could access higher and higher levels and then when your ball falls down it puts you on the previous level.

So I guess I'd prefer something with some unique aspects and/or some puzzley sort of things, and available documentation on how to play the game and achieve various goals. I am strange in that points per-se don't do it for me; I much prefer unlocking something cool rather than simply scoring points.