(Topic ID: 136087)

My Sys80/B replacement mainboard project - want to join?

By Fabrz71

8 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

Topic poll

“What do you think about a programmable replacement mainboard ?”

• really interesting! I'd like to have one to hack my machine! 5 votes
    100%
  • mmm... would you provide the ROMs files of my GTB pin ? (no, you can't) 0 votes
  • mmm... you should consider other mainboards 0 votes
  • mmm... too difficult to use (needed Arduino programming skills) 0 votes
  • it's interesting only for few tech-sicked guys 0 votes
  • it's a useless gadget 0 votes

(Multiple choice - 5 votes)

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_20200407_083224 (resized).jpg
IMG_20151128_092527.jpg
IMG_20151101_233656.jpg
sys80b_prb_rev1.jpg
pcb.png
IMG_20150729_200245.jpg
sys80b.jpg
#1 8 years ago

Hi!
I'm a newbie here and I would like to present you a project of mine and see what's interest about it in the pinball community. Hoping I'm not off-topic here.
Last fall I bought a broken pinball for a good price... my first and only pinball by now. For many years I've got fascinated by pinballs since I was a teen, with all their mechanisms and lights, but I couldn't ever get one by hands. Now that I finally got my piece of hardware, my interest is more focused on what's inside the pinball and its tech. The pinball is a Gottileb "Big House" (not a great pinball in fact), it was completely disassembled and in great need of a restore. But it offered all the electronics and electromechanicals I was strongly curious about.
With a lot of time and patience (although I have not a lot of spare time), I completely restored the pin having a lot of fun, and it's fully working now.
But it all was not enough for me. I begun to brood what about tricking with the electronics inside it.
I realized the Gottlieb System 80/B motherboard is based on a 6502 CPU which I've already appreciated in the past.