View topic image gallery

safety capacitor.JPG
thats what she said.jpg
trafo1.JPG
Switch box.jpg
Transformer.jpg
#1 10 years ago

Hello,

My Scared Stiff won’t power up. No lights, no sound and no signs of life. It was working fine about 3 months ago and I haven’t moved or touched it since then.

I’ve checked all the fuses. There’s power to the on/off switch and when turned on there’s power to the transformer at the back. I’m not sure what to do next. From reading other posts I hear transformers rarely fail.

Please can you help me, I’m quite new to pinball and this is the first problem I can't solve on my own! Are there some basic tests I can do to isolate the issue?

Jon

#2 10 years ago

Anything change since last time it worked? Any recent repairs or mods done?

#3 10 years ago

Check for the lights on the Power Driver board and the CPU board.

Check voltage at each of the test points.

faz

#4 10 years ago
Quoted from yzfguy:

Anything change since last time it worked? Any recent repairs or mods done?

Nothing. It's been sat in the corner of my office untouched since it last worked.

#5 10 years ago
Quoted from pinball_faz:

Check for the lights on the Power Driver board and the CPU board.
Check voltage at each of the test points.
faz

There're no lights on the boards. I'm not sure where the voltage test points are. I'll see if my manual has them marked...

#6 10 years ago

You have a DMM/or voltmeter?

Know how to use it?

#7 10 years ago

With the power off, reseat all the connectors on the transformer. Completely unplug them, then reconnect firmly.

I would also reseat all the power connectors on the CPU board.

#8 10 years ago

Some things to note that may give clues: