Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 52 posts
  • 33 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 10 years ago by vid1900
  • Topic is favorited by 2 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

There are 52 posts in this topic. You are on page 1 of 2.
#1 10 years ago

Hi, normally I'd wait to research more before starting this topic but I'm new to Pinside and we've just bought our first machine and the seller is asking to come over and swap out the Rottendog main board with the orig board (which was supposedly just returned to him after being repaired).
We bought Fish Tales from the seller about three weeks ago and so far the machine works fine only once did it reset while playing but that was the first day at our place , perhaps related to moving and setup .
When the seller delivered the machine he pointed out the Rottendog board and told us that the original board was still out being repaired and he provided the machine with a Rottendog board which appeared to basically be his test board.

He was up front and told us we could keep the board or when the original was repaired that we could swap it out. He called last week and offered to come out an hour to our place to take back the Rottendog board and install the now repaired original board.
I don't know if we should keep the Rottendog board as are know it works well or if it would be better to have the original board?
Are repro boards such as the Rottendog considered an equal to the original or inferior? In my case as the Rottendog board setup works fine I was thinking maybe we should keep the board which is now working well but if it is important to have the original board then I'm open to swapping it - I'm not sure if the original boards while original equipment are inferior to a newer board or not.