4 years ago

Topic Stats

• 51 posts
  • 36 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 3 years ago by motorbreth77
  • Topic is favorited by 2 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

There are 51 posts in this topic. You are on page 1 of 2.
    #1 4 years ago

When buying a multimeter what should you look for ?

#2 4 years ago

If you plan to use it alot I wouldn't go cheap in my opinion.It's the best tool to have if you plan on working on solid state pinball machines.I'd take a look at a Fluke brand elsewhere.Look at a model that has a diode check option and tone option.All the others will have,VAC,VDC,OHM,AMPS, stuff like that

#3 4 years ago

I'm a newbie and looking for something under $100. Looks like Fluke brand is probably more than I want to spend. How about this Klien :

amazon.com link »

https://toolsreviewer.com/best-multimeter-under-100/

#4 4 years ago

Kleins are decent meters....I've used both fluke and Klein in my every day work and trust them both.

#5 4 years ago

I always see people recommending super expensive DMM to people that are just going to be doing basic pinball stuff with it. You do not need a fluke for pinball.

amazon.com link »

I recommend that meter. It is cheap, robust, and works well.

#6 4 years ago

Thanks for the replies so far.

Robert - So you think the Klein I found would be a good choice for occasional use then ?

If I would decide to spend more, say $175.00 or so tops it looks like I could get a Fluke electrician model # 117.

amazon.com link »

Would picking between these two, The Klien MM1000 and the 117 Fluke be reasonable choices ?

#7 4 years ago

Thanks also barakandl for your suggestion too. I just posted when I saw you had jumped in too. Thanks for the input.

#8 4 years ago

What makes that klein meter more expensive is that it can measure a temperature. Who cares for pinball.

#9 4 years ago