(Topic ID: 284328)

MS Frankenstein doesn't boot (CPU board power problem?)

By Pinthul

3 years ago

Topic Stats

• 5 posts
  • 5 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 3 years ago by grumppy
  • Topic is favorited by 2 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_20201223_180105.jpg
IMG_20201223_175923.jpg
IMG_20201223_175915.jpg
#1 3 years ago

Dear Pinside friends,

I'm relatively new to all things Pinball and have a big problem with my recently acquired MS Frankenstein. It doesnt boot anymore. It was playing fine until a few days ago, trying to start it yesterday it won't boot and won't play anymore. The pin lights up the Playfield but the DMD stays dark. Sometimes when turning off the DMD displays scrambled dots for a few seconds so I guess the DMD itself is not broken.

It is also not possible to play, the start button does not load a ball, also no sound is played but the speakers emit a constant, faint "humm". Sometimes the playfield coils/ Frankenstein arms move like in test mode for a second or two, thats it.

The CPU Board LED (PIA, 5V, Blank) do not light up at all during startup or after. They stay completely dark.

I have reseated all the connectors going to the CPU board but nothing changed. I have ordered a digital Multimeter and a soldering kit. But especially my electrical skills are severely lacking and I don't know where to go from here (or even how/what to measure) to locate the problem.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks and have a nice christmas time.

Edit: I have attached some pictures of the CPU Board, something else I noted is the machine behaves no different with inserted batteries or without, the battery holder is not attached to the board at the left side and seems to have some small burn marks?

IMG_20201223_175915.jpgIMG_20201223_175915.jpgIMG_20201223_175923.jpgIMG_20201223_175923.jpgIMG_20201223_180105.jpgIMG_20201223_180105.jpg

#2 3 years ago

Have you checked all the fuses?