5 years ago

Topic Stats

• 7 posts
  • 7 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 5 years ago by poppapin
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 5 years ago

I've been using the Mr Pinball website since 2001. That 1st year I got burned on a guy selling NOS Gottlieb EM playfields. I contacted the Atlanta police which was where the seller claimed he lived. Police report etc. It's still listed on the Mr Pinball scam alert website link and updates show the SOB is in jail now. Forward to 2018. I have always had great results with wanted ads from other collectors. Bought parts and games and was always happy since lots of these people aren't on Pinside or RGP back in the day. Recently posted for a couple PF's and most responses were scammers. To protect yourself:

1) Do a reverse image scan on google. Take any pictures you're sent, download and click "images" on google. Download the pics and see if listed to a former sales ad or a pin website.

2) Gmail is the preferred Nigerian server.

The rest has been covered here like bad English, no phone contact number etc.

Sucks that a great resource is now being overrun. I have these dirt bags responding to my "wanted" ads on CL asking what my best price is for the pinball machine I want to buy only because I list in the selling area. Oh well, just be smart.

#2 5 years ago

I too have used Mr Pinball for at least 10 years and they just sit there waiting for a new FS or WTB ad to hit so they can jump on it immediately, I'd guess maybe 35-40% of the ads there are from scammers.

#3 5 years ago

Site was the standard for about 15 years but between here, FB and CL I just don’t bother anymore.

1 week later
    #4 5 years ago

that guy on Mr Pinball is scamming away:

Simpsons Pinball Party, 2003 Stern: 3700 Full LED, perfect game, almost perfect box, beautiful plastics (comes with extra plastics), all in order. Working. Bought as HUO with 1492 plays on it.
    Haris