You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_1503_(resized).JPG
IMG_1501_(resized).JPG
IMG_1500_(resized).JPG
#1 8 years ago

Folks, I'm new to this so please be patient. Just got a 1978 Playboy Bally's Pinball and prior owner thinks the MPU is bad. Alkaline spill out of battery. The existing MPU board is labeled as AS-2962-3. If I need to purchase a replacement MPU, would the following be the right board? [ ULTIMATE Bally & Stern MPU board which replaces AS-2518-35 or AS-2518-17, AS-2518-133, AS-2962-7, A084-91603-AA44, MPU100 or MPU200 MPU board] ?

I'm not sure if the AS-2962-3 is the original board, but the manual says it should have been an AS-2518-17 or AS-2518-35. I also would like to know if its a straight swap of boards or if there is some other modifications that would be necessary. My brother (great with circuit boards) and I are going to trouble shoot per the manual this weekend (5V, 11.9V) but the guy I got it from was pretty darn sure the MPU is bad. So I wanted to get a head start on the right part. Any replies would be greatly appreciated.

#2 8 years ago

You have a -35 mpu, the silk screen print probably just flaked off. The alltek MPU will work with Playboy. The severity of battery corrosion depends on if the original MPU is worth repairing, parting out or trash canning. A good picture and we can tell.

#3 8 years ago

these boards are the most repairable depending the damage. A picture is a good idea here. OTOH the altek boards are excellent if you have to spend the money.

I just recently bought a refurb board for stern meteor from barakandl and it was an excellent deal.

#4 8 years ago

actually there's a sticker that says AS-2962-3 but maybe the -35 is under the sticker. Pictures attached

IMG_1500_(resized).JPGIMG_1500_(resized).JPG

IMG_1501_(resized).JPGIMG_1501_(resized).JPG

IMG_1503_(resized).JPGIMG_1503_(resized).JPG

#5 8 years ago