You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Pinball (resized).png
Pinball (resized).png
Pinball (resized).png
#1 5 years ago

Hello, I am new to Pinside and new to pinball repair, especially em pinball repair. I just picked up Gottlieb Top Score and when I turn it on the the motor spins and the chimes continually sound. The player one score won't finish resetting, it shows 50,000. A buddy said that maybe a play field switch is stuck shut (or open). I visually went through and checked them all and they appear to be in their natural positions. On his recommendation I also checked the balls in the backbox animation to see if anything seemed whack. Looked "fine". I also checked the switches on the coin door/mechs. They also seem normal. I don't know what to look for next. I appreciate any help you can give. Please keep in mind that I am still learning the lingo so may need descriptions of the parts. Thanks!

#2 5 years ago

Certainly sounds like a pf switch. Disconnect the jones plugs connecting the pf to the motor board to establish whether that isolates the pf as the problem.

#3 5 years ago
Quoted from Todd_Robinett:

motor spins and the chimes continually sound

What score is running-10's, 100's, 1000's? That will make it easier to track down.

#4 5 years ago
Quoted from currieddog:

What score is running-10's, 100's, 1000's? That will make it easier to track down.

None of the reels are moving when turned on. The player one, ten thousand reel is on 5. The rest are on zero.

#5 5 years ago
Quoted from wayner:

Certainly sounds like a pf switch. Disconnect the jones plugs connecting the pf to the motor board to establish whether that isolates the pf as the problem.

I will look at this. I assume the jones plugs are the old school connectors. So just unplug those to the playfield, power up and look for... I'm sorry. I am really new to this.

#6 5 years ago

These are the switches that run the motor. Which one of these switches/relays is stuck on?