(Topic ID: 322261)

More Casual Pinball League

By Eze01

1 year ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 1 year ago

My friends and I have been really getting into playing pinball for about a year or more now and the topic of a pinball league has come up a few times. I am currently the big fish in the little pond having a lot of the GC scores around town so folks are kind-of looking at me to lead the charge with getting things organized. I'm also a mechanical engineer so this sort of thing does not bother me. I've been looking up IFPA rules and looking at other leagues (Buffalo Pinball etc) but when I brought up to the group what most leagues do, many people thought that some of these rules are either intimidating for new new players or just not as fun as just playing a game. I do understand why many of these rules are in place as when competition gets real, having an EB awarded to someone via a mystery shot is extremely unfair.

I just don't think most people around here are close to that level. Another issue I'm seeing is most rulesets say bring 20+ people to 1 location on 1 day where there are at least 4 machines. Our town's machines are all spread out at different bars so it just wont function like that here. We really just want to generate interest in the game and have a semi structured format where people can learn and have fun.