20150303_223036.jpg
IMG_8014_2.JPG
IMG_8058.JPG
IMG_8093.JPG
IMG_8059.JPG
IMG_8092.JPG
20150114_145115.jpg
20150217_150706.jpg
There are 53 posts in this topic. You are on page 1 of 2.
#1 8 years ago

I am quite new to pinball, bought my first pinball machine (TOM) for little over a year ago.
For a few months ago a member of the local pinball club asked me if i could help him with his Doctor Who MPF elevator, I am working as a mechanic and like to solve problems so of course I was interested.

Looking at the construction of the elevator and knowing they usually solve all problems by themselves made me want to do some minor changes that would make it work properly and be a reliable piece that hopefully don´t need any adjustments in the future.

An industrial piece that has to raise and lower something normally uses linear guiding and a mechanism that centers the force. But changing this elevator to something like that would take much more time and modifications than I have done on this one, and also because it is not my elevator I just tried to make it work as it is constructed to begin with.

I also got a documentation that was very helpful to have when working on the elevator, my hat´s off for that documentation made by FAZ on this forum.

The changes I did were:
• Install ball bearings instead of the non-rolling “rollers” that just slides up and down.
• Decrease friction, metal to metal that causes friction and wear is not very good.
• Align and make the bracket stiffer so it would not bend or change shape.

The work is finished and just installed in the pinball machine, I recently signed up here to present the work I have done.
I will try to show pictures and update this thread as often as I can.

At first I made a playfield and mpf dummy, I also bought a PWM controller with reverse ability. This to test and see what goes wrong when raising and lowering the elevator.

20150217_150706.jpg20150217_150706.jpg

#2 8 years ago

More pictures!
More pictures!