(Topic ID: 59320)

Might be picking up a Captain Fantastic...need advice!

By PurpleTophat

7 years ago

Topic Stats

• 38 posts
  • 20 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 7 years ago by Pafasa
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

#1 7 years ago

So I might be picking up a Captain Fantastic this weekend for seriously cheap. I don't know anything about it, except that I'm told that it's the arcade version and it used to work perfectly before it was put into a garage and stored for the past 15-20 years or so.

It's coming from a good friend's parents and they're sort of expecting me to give them a low but somewhat fair amount for it. They said "cheap or free depending on what you think it's worth to you". His dad is out of work right now so I want to give them at least something because they're good people, but I've never done any work on an EM before and I have no idea what I might be getting myself into.

Can't tell you what condition the cabinet is in, but I'm guessing it's got it's fair share of scuffs and scrapes. It hasn't been turned on since it's been stored.

All that being said:

1. Is there anything I need to do before I plug it in and turn it on? I certainly don't want to fry anything that isn't already!

2. Given the limited info above, what would you pay for it if it works? How about if it doesn't? What if it half works? Bear in mind that I want to give them something, but I also want to get a GREAT deal, or I wouldn't even bother with it.

3. Are parts for this machine readily available?

4. Does this have the potential to be a money pit, or is any problem easily fixable for a reasonable cost?

5. Any major red flags to look out for?

I literally know nothing about this machine. I don't want to end up spending more on fixing it than I would on buying a fully working one. Thanks for any help you might be able to offer!

#2 7 years ago