(Topic ID: 141387)

Metallica Monster Premium fun for guests?

By sadler28

8 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 26 posts
  • 19 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 8 years ago by Gryszzz
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 8 years ago

I am fairly new to the hobby and have owned a JD for over a year now. Great for kids with multiball from the start but guests who don't play pinball don't get too much into it.

I'm a huge Metallica fan. One of my favorite bands ever. I've read a ton about the premium machine but never played it. I'm 90% in on getting on the new run from Stern, but am concerned about game play when friends and family come over.

Any thoughts or personal experience from anyone with people who play this machine for the first time either as long time pinballers or new to the game?

#2 8 years ago

I think Metallica (and ACDC) are great Lyman code achievements because newbs/guests can have a ton of fun with them and experts can appreciate the nuance. For a newb to enjoy Metallica all they need to know is "shoot Sparky, the Snake, the grave targets, the coffin and the ramps" and they'll have a great time. Of course it helps if they like the music, too.

#3 8 years ago

I have JD, Metallica and Star Trek. Non pinball people flock to trek and leave Metallica alone. Don't know why

#4 8 years ago

If you are a Metallica and pinball fan, you owe it to get the machine regardless of friends and family. But I agree with Rarehero that it does a great job of having levels of simplicity and complexity to make it enjoyable for lots of people. The light show on the premium is excellent as well.

#5 8 years ago

I have played Star Trek. Very fun game but my wife wouldn't go for the theme. Plus this will be a selfish purchase since it will be my first NIB pin. Good thoughts on how to tell people what to hit on Met to make it simple.