Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG-20170724-WA0000 (resized).jpg
IMG_6664 (resized).JPG
IMG_6665 (resized).JPG
IMG_6663 (resized).JPG
#1 6 years ago

This is my first time working on Fathom and I'm trying to figure out how to properly raise the playfield.
I'm rebuilding the flippers and want to orient the playfield so I have easy access to the underside.
The playfield has hooks that normally slide around a set of posts towards the rear of the cabinet.
I'm able to pull the playfield up and out to release the hooks, and then I can rest the hooks on a second set of pegs that are near the middle of the cabinet.
My hope was that this second set of posts would let me flip the playfield over and rest it on the backbox, but due to an interference with the brackets I can only flip it slightly past vertical and it doesn't feel particularly stable.
How am I supposed to do this?
I've attached some photos of the playfield resting on the posts near the middle of the cabinet and the gap between the playfield and the backbox.

IMG_6663 (resized).JPGIMG_6663 (resized).JPG

IMG_6665 (resized).JPGIMG_6665 (resized).JPG

IMG_6664 (resized).JPGIMG_6664 (resized).JPG

#2 6 years ago

If all else fails. Lasso it to the head so it doesn't come down and hurt you.

#3 6 years ago

Yeah this game is a pain, along with Centaur and others. I use a piece of heavy string tie loops on each end and put one loop around the playfield hanger and up and over the top of the head and put a S hook on the other end of the string and hook it into the slots in the back side of the head. This way you can quickly disconnect it from the hanger and lower the playfield when you want and then reconnect it again.

John

#4 6 years ago

Thanks for the advice. I thought I was doing something wrong but it sounds like Bally designed it this way..

#5 6 years ago

For best underside acces you can tilt the playfield out of the hooks and swivel 180 degree and lay it upset down in the cabinet.