• No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Maverick (resized).jpg
Maverick_PS (resized).jpg

#1 3 months ago

Hi all!, first of all it's a pleasure to be here and thank you for your help in advance. (BTW, I'm from Spain/Europe)

I have a great Maverick 1994 at home (I love it), but it starts getting strange resets when I press any flipper button, or firing by hand the triangle near the flippers, loosing the sound and getting turning off the display, and when I release the flipper button, the system resets displaying the System Version, etc..

I think it's a power supply problem, probably a cap, bridge or similar. I have some electronic skills, but I'm not an expert. I was also doing some maintenance in my pinball for 3 years (when I bought it for 1500€ working), in this time I was replacing some lamps, an old coil and the paddle wheel rubber. So I'm learning a lot about my pinball lately

The point is, that I was trying to figure out why if I press the flippers buttons (even just only one), or any coil fires, then the pinball resets. I have some tools as a digital multimeter, solder and some replacement components as fuses, transistors, diodes, bridges, and caps, so I've bought them to have some replacements before starts repairing it.

Could you please guide me about what to check with a logical order?. I need a method to resolve the issue, from big things to specific ones if possible.

Here is what I did so far:

0) All boards seems to be originals and with no re-work (at least in soldering terms).
1) All fuses in all cards (even in cabinet), are OK.
2) If I don't start playing, everything seems to be ok. (music, lights, paddle wheel, etc.)
3) The 3 leds in the CPU board appears normal according the manual ON (Blank), ON (+5V), OFF (PIA) (I did not check leds when problem happens yet with some flipper pressed)