• 7 posts
  • 4 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 1 year ago by Kharag
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 1 year ago

Hello everyone,
I have a Mata Hari here that normally works pretty great, but sometimes the flipper just stop working and then a few seconds later they work again before stopping again. Usally just restarting the machine fixes the problem and I can keep playing for a few hours without a problem.
I also noticed when this problem occurs I can hear a clicking sound probably coming from the backbox(?), but I'm not sure if that's related.

Lastly I have to say I'm a complete newbie to pinball repairs and don't even know where to start looking, as this issue doesn't occur every time.
Maybe some of you have an idea what this could be and where I should look to fix it.

~Kharag

#2 1 year ago

The clicking you hear is the flipper relay on the solenoid driver board. Is the game resetting when this issue occurs? Either way you probably need to rebuild the connectors going from the mpu to the solenoid driver board. If the problem still occurs after that we can dive into what might be going on with the mpu.

#3 1 year ago

There is a jumper wire going to pin 25 of the J3 connector on the solenoid driver board, top right corner of the backbox. This jumper often gets loose or the pins it connects to lose their solder connectivity. Resoldering the pins and cleaning and tightening the jumper itself will fix this problem.

#4 1 year ago
Quoted from Xenon75:

The clicking you hear is the flipper relay on the solenoid driver board. Is the game resetting when this issue occurs? Either way you probably need to rebuild the connectors going from the mpu to the solenoid driver board. If the problem still occurs after that we can dive into what might be going on with the mpu.

Yeah, one time it also reseted itself, but normaly it does not. Will that make any difference?