(Topic ID: 306342)

Low Transformer Voltage Output?

By Nchezey_5916

2 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

CFE459BB-D4D6-4BA8-B56E-F4ECF6C3CB71 (resized).jpeg
    F84D19E8-19A5-4A2A-8779-4AB991063E26 (resized).jpeg
    #1 2 years ago

I am very new to the world of pinball restoration and wiring/electrical systems were never my strong suit while working on cars so this may be a dumb question but…. What is considered too low for voltage output when working with transformers?

I’m currently restoring a Gottlieb System 1 and started by testing all of my wiring/voltages to make sure things are up to par. When I got to the transformers I found that several of the readings I’m getting are well below the spec in the schematic. I had a few that were only slightly off and I wasn’t too concerned with those but I started getting several that seem pretty low to me.

I attached a picture of the schematic with my recorded voltages written next to each wire. I’m mainly concerned with the two that are supposed to be 69v and read out at 16.5v, but I think that most of the ones on the bottom of the picture are pretty low as well.

Thoughts?

F84D19E8-19A5-4A2A-8779-4AB991063E26 (resized).jpegF84D19E8-19A5-4A2A-8779-4AB991063E26 (resized).jpeg
    #2 2 years ago

You're measuring your voltages wrong. On the 25V AC circuit, you measured 18V on one leg and 16V on the other. You should be measuring across both legs for a single reading.

Transformers rarely go bad. Better to test incoming and outgoing voltages at the power supply board.

http://www.pinrepair.com/sys1/index.htm#power

#3 2 years ago