(Topic ID: 191377)

Loosing a ball without points made - same ball given (?)

By rolf_martin_062

6 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 6 years ago

Hi pinsiders
    I started playing pins in the very late 1960ies, From there I had some believes - thinking to be facts --- after many years I have found "not true, false":

"Believe-1" - in a 4-Player-Pin when tilting: ONLY THIS Ball is lost. Well, yes many such pins act this way --- BUT, example Gottlieb "Liberty Belle" tilts THIS Player.

"Believe-2" - in a Bally and Williams pin with the (1970ies) upright Score-Motor: These Score-Motors are built TOTALLY 180-degree SYMMETRICAL. Well, yes many are built symmetrical --- BUT, example Bally "Night Rider" http://www.ipdb.org/machine.cgi?id=1677 cam-12 is asymmetrical (see in the ipdb-schematics at A-1,2 / B-1,2 - also see http://www.pinwiki.com/wiki/index.php?title=File:BallyScoreMotor3-4View.jpg the Score-Motor is at home but the outmost-right cam is asymmetrical).

"Believe-3" - I assume You know and maybe love it: In a Gottlieb pin when the FIRST Player looses Ball-ONE without making points: SAME Ball given. In a Bally / Williams (only in Four-Players ?) Pin: EVERY Ball lost without making points: SAME Ball given.
    I believed this to be a fact on Bally / Williams --- BUT example Williams 1967 "Shangri La" http://www.ipdb.org/machine.cgi?id=2110 , ipdb-schematics, page-5 at 20/21-D a Trough-Switch is drawn --- to make the Ball-Index-Relay to pull-in (((so a 'lost ball not made points': Steps to next player / next ball))).