New! Dark mode!

Browsing Pinside at night? Getting tired of all the white? Switch to dark mode using the button in the top right (or CTRL-B)!

(Topic ID: 76576)

Looking to jump in... some questions though!

By gern

6 years ago

Topic Stats

• 50 posts
  • 28 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 6 years ago by Pafasa
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

There have been 3 images uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

image.jpeg
    image2.jpeg
    image3.jpeg

#1 6 years ago

You can tell by my profile that I am a newb. I've been thinking about getting into pinball for a long time. I've frequently lurked this forum and others over the last few years. I'm starting to get the itch and really want to jump in to the hobby. I'm fairly comfortable working with electronics and built a MAME machine several years ago and really enjoyed it.

I've been looking for a pinball machine off and on for the last year or so. I've come across a Lethal Weapon 3 that isn't too far from where I live. I'm am thinking about going to check it out over the weekend. But I am wary about what I may be getting myself into! Here is what I know about the machine from the seller.

*$650 for the machine
    *Needs a new DMD (I didn't ask what was wrong with the current one)
    *Has one broken plastic (not sure which one)
    *Game powers up (not sure if playable)
    *Switches work
    *Needs some soldering work (He says that on the coils some of the wires have come off and others are just kind of poorly done. He also says, I'd assume they still work, but they look kind of bad.)

I've gone through the forums and looked at a lot of old threads about this machine. Is there anything else that I should ask before going to look at the machine? Any advice in general? Thank you for any help!

#2 6 years ago