(Topic ID: 140835)

Looking to buy a machine in the US that was set up for import to UK

By xtremegameroom

8 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 8 years ago

I'm new to the pin world and I'm interested in a pin for sale however, it was originally setup for import to the UK and is set in British Pounds.
    Is there anything that I need to watch out for?
    If I purchase it can I change everything to USA settings and there will be no way to tell that it was ever imported?
    I do plan on changing the single slot door to a standard double slot which looks to be the only tell-tell sign that it was an import.

Am I missing anything?
    Are imports less desirable for resale?

#2 8 years ago

What game is it?

The coin door and the line cord are the most obvious signs. Depending on the type of game, sometimes the service outlet is European as well.

For the code, sometimes you have to burn new domestic ROMs, sometimes you have to set the dip switches on the MPU for the country.

Quoted from xtremegameroom:

Are imports less desirable for resale?

There is some debate about this. For some, imports are less desirable. For others, condition is king--no matter if it's a domestic or import.

#3 8 years ago

I really don't think most people care about whether a machine is a re-import or not as long as it works well. The types that do care if it's a re-import will sniff it out from the serial number, certification stickers, or whatever.

Also, if you're trying to disguise the fact that it's a re-import, you shouldn't. You should be honest about what you have and what the condition is. Anything else is going to end up with someone down the road calling you up two weeks after the sale and a bad taste in everyone's mouth.

#4 8 years ago