Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 23 posts
  • 19 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 3 years ago by gdonovan
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 3 years ago

Me: I am new to owning pinball machines. I have two now, both 1980s era solid state. But i grew up in the 1970s playing EM machines.

My Goal (dream): To take an EM machine and restore it. Maybe not to brand new, but something that looks reaonsble.

My Situation: To be honest, I am really new to all of this. But i am an eager learner and want to give this a shot. I may fail, but it is kind of a dream of mine.

My Question to experts in this area: If i were to buy an older EM machine from the 1970s - are there anything that i would really want to avoid? Are there parts generally available for some machines but not others? Is there a supplier that may be easier to work on for a newbie like me? (I read gotlieb are easier in this era). If a machine has a damaged playfield....is that the kiss of death? etc etc

Sometimes an item is so far gone that it is not worth attempting to rehab. I am trying to understand what those items may be so i can avoid a money pit.

Just looking for good suggestions from those of you that have done this before and could share some wisdom with me on your recommendations.

Any suggestions greatly appreciated!

#2 3 years ago

I'd suggest a single player simple game, low scoring ( not a lot of score reels ) to get your feet wet.

Best wishes.

LTG : )

#3 3 years ago

Also, read Pinwiki EM machines. Gottlieb and Williams are good brands to start with, lots of available parts

#4 3 years ago