By SilverBallKid

9 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

DSCF2644.JPG

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider SilverBallKid.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 9 years ago

Hi Everyone,

So, this weekend I finally started swapping out lamp sockets on my 1976 Space Odyssey. A lot of my GI sockets on my playfield were pretty well shot and I had a lot of lights that burned very dim. Yesterday I worked my way around the playfield and replaced all lamp sockets that had 1/2 inch brackets. I am still kind of new to soldering so I was a little hesitant, but my buddy who used to repair pins is the one who taught me so I had good guidance.

Anyway, once I was done soldering in the new sockets and fired up the table, things looked MUCH better. Better light pools, consistent from area to area, all lights equal brightness, etc. Needless to say I was very happy.

Today I started swapping out the Flush Mounted "Staple" type sockets for my match unit as a start on repairing the bad ones in my backbox. I have a lot of weak/bad ones up there as well, and even a couple that contain either cracked bulbs or the remnants of things used to try to remove cracked bulbs. I have a new CPR repro backglass, so I want things to look as good as I can.

Here is a look at the first 5 sockets I pulled (match lights 0-4) so you guys can check out the condition of my existing ones. As you can see, they are terribly rusted and corroded and the springs inside are shot. I also included a bulb so you can see another thing I am running across, which is sockets that have a buildup of greasy gunk in them. It almost looks like old Vaseline to me. Some sockets have it and some don't. I find them all over the game from place to place. Regardless, between the rust, the corrosion and the greasy stuff, I just felt it would be better to swap them out.

DSCF2644.JPGDSCF2644.JPG