Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 13 posts
  • 10 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 8 years ago by DaWezl
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider MWink.
    Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 8 years ago

I've decided I'd like to try and get a pinball table but I'm pretty new to this and I'd like to get some advice. While I have a LOT (as in hundreds of hours) of experience playing virtual pinball games like TPA, Pinball FX2, Visual Pinball, etc. I have very little experience playing actual tables (in the real world). I know it's going to be a completely different experience and I'm looking forward to it. I also realize that a real table will require maintenance/repairs and I'm hoping I'll be able to learn to do that myself. I'm moderately competent repairing electronics. I know how to use a multi-meter, replace bad capacitors, etc. My biggest concerns are finding a good reasonably priced table that I enjoy, transporting it, and (most of all) the possibility of getting bored with it. I realize that I've been spoiled by the virtual pinball games, which offer me over 100 tables to choose from. I'm curious if people who own real tables find they tend to keep their interest or if/how fast they get bored with them?

I'm also curious what kind of game people recommend starting with? Do you guys recommend starting with an expensive, fancy table or something cheaper? I see advantages and disadvantages to both options. Here's a list of some of the tables that I might be interested in. I'd love to hear any comments you guys have on them:

- Star Trek: The Next Generation - This would probably be my holy grail. I'm a huge ST:TNG fan and I love almost everything about this table. It looks and sounds fantastic. I like the layout and it has reasonably deep rules. As I understand it, the one downside is that it tends to be high maintenance.