09 (resized).jpg
08 (resized).jpg
07 (resized).jpg
04 (resized).jpg
03 (resized).jpg
02 (resized).jpg
01 (resized).jpg
#1 4 years ago

After a long hiatus I'm finally back into pinball and will be starting to document my Grand Lizard restoration project. I'm a pretty bad writer, procrastinator and even worse keeping up with forum related stuff so I'll apologize in advance if I take my sweet time with this..

Story so far:
I've owned a couple Grand Lizards for years collecting dust in my garage. I got my first GL in overall decent shape, it played good and everything was working properly. The playfield was pretty rough though, the lower playfield was more or less OK but there was quite a bit of wear that was patched with black paint as shown in the picture below:
Patched wearPatched wear

Upper playfield was worse, way worse. One of the previous owners felt he/she had some Picasso artistic skills and butchered it this way:
Picasso artworkPicasso artwork

I loved to play this pinball but looking at that artwork was such an eye sore I had to do something and while aggregating assets for my short lived pinball assets website (long story for another day) I came across a NOS playfield scan for it.

A few months later I found another (this one non working) GL in Craigslist for $200 bucks. Motherboard was missing a chip and the battery holder and the playfield was in even rougher shape as shown in the picture below:
04 (resized).jpg04 (resized).jpg

I primarily got this pinball as for $200 bucks I felt it was a good opportunity to use it as reference while I did the restoration on my working machine and to use for parts if needed.

At this point I forget what broke on my working GL but prompted me to start the project and fix it at the same time. In hindsight that was a bad idea and I think I should have fixed the issue first and make sure I left a working pinball for later.