Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 13 posts
  • 9 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 1 year ago by LTG
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

75127E01-5682-4BCB-9F6E-740859FB9075 (resized).png
    Light_bulbs (resized).jpg
    3 Lights (resized).jpg
    4_Lights (resized).jpg
    Fat_Light (resized).jpg
    #1 1 year ago

Greetings Everyone!

I'm working on this 1990 Dr. Dude currently and am having some trouble with some of the lights not lighting up. I replaced the bulbs with working bulbs and they still do not light up. I'm very new at working on pinball machines and am not really sure where to turn next if even a working bulb does not work in these sockets. Could it be the green board itself is messed up and needs to be replaced? Also, there is a larger bulb that is hard to get to that does not light up that is in a socket, not a green board. I have some pictures of the lights not working and the boards underneath along with the bulbs that are used. Any tips on what to do next to get these lit up is much appreciaited thank you!

3 Lights (resized).jpg3 Lights (resized).jpg4_Lights (resized).jpg4_Lights (resized).jpgFat_Light (resized).jpgFat_Light (resized).jpgLight_bulbs (resized).jpgLight_bulbs (resized).jpg
    #2 1 year ago

Several things could be wrong here.

Some LEDs (not ordinary bulbs) are sensitive to orientation, so if a LED is dead try removing it from the socket, rotate 180 degrees and put it back in again and see if that helps.

If you move a "dead" lamp to another,currently working socket, does it light up? If not then lamp might be bad.

Many people swap lamps with the game turned on, it's certainly doable but only recommended if you know what you are doing. Unintentionally shorting things while swapping lamps is really bad so I recommend you to turn the game off when working on it if you are new to all this.